Days in the life of a songwriter 13

Had better add something here before I’ll have to write a novel to catch up. So yes, went to Romford recently and caught the tail end of Paul White’s (SOS magazine) seminar on vocal recording and processing. What I heard was good as all of us recording geeks could have guessed before. Anyway, I stuck around and took a pic of an Indian family with the man (with their camera in case you are wondering) and then got to speak to him for a few minutes. He also took a CD off me which he promised to listen to on his way back……. Oh, the taxi driver who took me there from the station said he’d had a pleasant day so far; but the blue lights hadn’t started flashing yet and the ambulances weren’t racing around yet as it was only half 3!!! This was over a week before the riots and the looting. So if you’d like to go to Romford, you’ve been warned.

I have mentioned Ariel’s Cyber PR company a couple of times (see link on the right) and managed to speak to her via email last week where she told me she will be coming to London for a talk at PRS headquarters soon. My mate Ash also booked me for a little festival gig this Saturday at the Cultural Olympiad in a park in Mitcham. Might put a link on facebook tonight. I think I’ll be on early, he wants me there for 1pm.

As we are back in business (internet-wise) I managed to get us a ReverbNation page which seems to be very handy. I’m very impressed with all the features and promotional options available. Check it out when you have a minute. I keep adding content there at the mo, so do come back later as well. I even got an account on FlickR but have only posted two pics so far, but the idea is to take pictures of all the gear we use. After that there will be loads of pics from live gigs too.

Last week Friday we went to the secret pub for dinner which was lovely. I can’t tell you where it is. It wouldn’t be the secret pub anymore, would it?

Also went Rollerblading through Hyde Park and past Buck House on the way down to the old Thames where we jumped into our shoes and went across the river to the vintage festival at the South Bank. We loved it and one dress was bought in the process. Rollerbladed all the way to Chelsea from there got home and fell asleep for 2 hours……

A few days later I saw Gary Glitter at terminal 5 (Heathrow) and actually took two ubercrappy pics of him with me old Nokia. Basically, you can hardly see him in them. JLS were around at the same time but I managed to miss them on account of being too busy or maybe I was having a coffee. A new Youtube account was created as well, see link on the right and I have so far managed to put up three vids. A live clip from the Water Rats (Maybe Arizona), How the World Works from the last EP (with footage from the M4) and the old Dear Caffeine video that helped us get our first deal. It has some lovely images from Dungeness and also East London’s old coffee shops.

Right, I’m off. See ya.

Leave a Reply

