Days in the life of a songwriter 14

riots, riots, riots….well like most of the working population I was pretty busy earning a crust. My mum called on the Tuesday and I had to tell her that I had been stuck at a hotel for 14 hours a day working my little butt off. But I was mindful of removing my jacket and tie on my way home. Didn’t really want to be mistaken for a rich git. It’s great that the protesters are clued up about some big companies avoiding taxes. Shame that they are too stupid to realise your average cornershop does not belong in the same category. Nuff said.

On a more positive note, I went out to Mitcham last Saturday to play on a little stage for a community/school festival that my mate Ash had invited me to. The best thing for me was meeting ‘Elvis’, who did his thing an hour after me. I got to shake his hand (William Maurice, in the shadow of the king….all the way from Canada) and was really impressed by his professionalism and also good natured and humble approach to everyone he met. Respect. Mitcham wasn’t as bad as I had expected.

Went to see an exhibition at the National Portrait gallery on Sunday, Hollywood Greats, basically shot in big studios by big photographers with big cameras.

Met up with Imogen for a cello rehearsal at Goldsmith’s too, as we’re playing a gig on Sunday night at the Stag in Hampstead, which is in Fleet Road. Nick will be joining us on piano and we’ve scheduled a rehearsal this Saturday. I’m quite happy about the fact that Imogen will be playing some pizzicato bass lines on two of the songs! Keeps her from getting bored and sounds good too. Wednesday night I caught up with Jari our drummer on a ship moored between Lambeth and Vauxhall bridge, the whole thing is basically a pub venue called Tamesis Dock’. We ended up sitting in the hull with Sanai Joe (singer guitarist) listening to some mates playing some jazzy stuff and having a bit of a jam. We were just necking a couple of cold ones. I was particularly impressed by the woman on saxophone (her playing!!)

Right, need to play through my set now but have to mention a trip in a taxi I took last night which made me feel a bit like the ‘Dude’ (big Lebowski for the infidels amongst us) when he complained that he hated the Eagles. The driver was from the Congo and was listening to Magic Radio London. I did not complain though.

Leave a Reply

