Days in the life of a songwriter 15

went to see Tonic Fold play at St Paul’s Covent Garden and was quite impressed by the pieces and a lot of the arrangements. They had a string octet, double bass (and electric), guitar, 4 singers and Shane, who writes the stuff, on piano. The next day I met up with Nick Desmond to rehearse (he’s on piano) and then we played a gig at the Stag in Hampstead through the people at Earmusic. We also had Imogen with us on cello who did some bass parts as well, pizzicato style. Simba who did the sound was hampered a bit by the ‘almost non existent’ PA. He had to hook up the desk to a myriad of tiny speakers all around the outdoor area….I was not amused. We managed to pull off a good gig, but had to dig in a bit. Did get some complimentary food though which is a rare thing in London.

Got an email on the Monday telling me that there was a review of our tracks in Sound on Sound magazine (recording and studio mag for the uninitiated). So I went out and bought it and was pleased with the content! Click on the link and scroll down. Then I created a profile on Amazing Radio (see link on the right) and also started compiling a list of podcasts that I will submit music to soon. The next day I collected music supervisors on Twitter and wrote lyrics for a song idea I had last year. Was pleased as punch with me-self after that….it always feels good to get another song under your belt! It’s about an old friend who has completely dropped off the radar and no one knows what’s become of him, since you asked.

On the Wednesday I wanted to see an age old Myspace ‘friend’ play in Camden but went to the wrong venue, aaaahhh. I went to Proud Camden, she played at the Cuban bar. What can I say… Found and copied the lyrics and the chords for ‘Are you lonesome tonight’ famous through Elvis, he didn’t write it of course, the song is from around 1928. Reason was that I was going to accompany Des, Frank’s uncle at a birthday party Saturday just gone, where I also played a small set, that according to Frank, “went down a storm!”

We went back to the Stag on Sunday to see the Yuya play, but got there too late. We had a quick chat with the female part of the duo and will try and catch them soon. Played a gig with them not long ago at the Luxe in Spitalfields and loved them. We still managed to stuff ourselves with a great lamb burger though.

Right this pretty much bring us up to date. We are playing a gig this Friday 02.09.11 at the Distillers in Hammersmith which is why I’m meeting up with Hakon for a piano rehearsal tomorrow and we’ll be having Piotr and Morgan on violin as well. So………laters, I’d say.

Leave a Reply

